Yahoo Weather

You are here

Panthers Plentiful in 6-2A All-District Selections

The 2013 District 6-2A All-District football team selections have been announced. As expected, the Van Alstyne Panthers were well represented on the select squad.

Superlative awards were given to Alex Phillips, Offensive Player of the Year, Dalton Jones, Defensive POY, Newcomer of the Year- Donte’ Kehler and Offensive Lineman of the Year Connor Mayes.

6-2A All-District First Team:


Kearon Redmon - Van Alstyne Junior

Will Brogdon - Van Alstyne Junior


Matt Burge - Van Alstyne Junior

Trent Alexander - Van Alstyne Junior

Bryce Mosier - Howe Senior

Brady Smith - Howe Senior

Kearon Redmon - Van Alstyne Junior

Zach Lea - Howe Senior

6-2A All-District Second Team


Anthony Hawthorne - Howe Junior

Shawn Wheeler - Van Alstyne Sophomore

Joseph Hawthorne - Howe Senior

Seth Caraway - Van Alstyne Sophomore

Matt Perez - Van Alstyne Senior

Charlie Overbey - Howe Junior


Ramon Fierro - Howe Senior

Jake Akins - Howe Senior

Will Jones - Van Alstyne Sophomore

Bryce Himmelreich - Van Alstyne Junior

Shawn Wheeler - Van Alstyne Sophomore

Riley Sprowl - Van Alstyne Junior

6-2A Honorable Mention

Jeff Dietz - Van Alstyne Senior

Adam White - Van Alstyne Junior

Levi Mrozinski - Howe Sophomore

Ty Portman - Howe Sophomore

Stratton Carroll - Howe Sophomore

Matt Griffin - Howe Freshman

Tyler Grisham - Howe Freshman

Van Alstyne Academic All-District

Alex Phillips

Will Jones

Bryce Himmelreich

Aaron Russell

Joseph Demond

Howe Academic All-District

Jake Akins

Blake Burnett

Tanner Ford

Tyler Grisham

Triston Matthews

Tyler Morrow

Levi Mrozinski

Kiefer Rodgers

Easton Ross

The Van Alstyne Leader website is available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access the website at no additional charge.